Stemmed searches

Viewed 24

I am reading Inside MarkLogic Server r7 http://www.odbms.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/marklogic-server-r7.pdf, there is one statement regarding stemmed searches which is a bit confusing for me.

"MarkLogic by default enables the stemmed searches option and leaves word searches disabled."

When I checked the default configuration of MarkLogic on my system, stemmed searches are disabled by default

So Please clarify which one is true, stemmed searches are by default enabled or disabled?

1 Answers

You are reading an old document from 2013. The database defaults have since changed, and in an updated version of that document it states:

In versions 8 and earlier, MarkLogic by default enables the stemmed searches option and leaves word searches disabled. Usually that's fine, but it can lead to surprises—e.g., if you're searching for a term in a metadata field where you don't want stemming. For such cases, you can enable the word searches index and pass "unstemmed" as an option while constructing the search query constraint. In version 9, the settings are reversed, and MarkLogic by default disables stemmed searches and enables word searches.

Now, stemming is off by and word search is enabled by default. You can change those settings, if you find that you do need stemming, and instead of database-wide changes, you can decide to enable stemming on specific fields.

Database Stemming is Off, Word Searches On By Default

  • In MarkLogic 9 and later, when you create a new database, the stemmed searches property is off by default. In MarkLogic 8 and earlier, the default is basic.
  • In MarkLogic 9 and later, when you create a new database, word searches are enabled by default. In MarkLogic 8 and earlier releases, word searches were disabled by default.
  • To achieve the pre-MarkLogic 9 default behavior, configure your database to turn off stemmed searches and set word searches to true.
  • These changes only affect databases you create after upgrading to MarkLogic 9. Databases that exist when you upgrade will retain their previous settings.
Related