I have a solution with 144 projects and the only configurations are "Debug|ANSI Debug" and "Release|ANSI Release".
I added a unit test project and when I was preparing for checkin and comparing changes to the solution file, I found that "Debug|Any" and "Release|Any" had been added FOR EVERY PROJECT. I need to go through this and remove ALL of the unwanted configurations now. I should not need to do this, adding a project should not create this pollution or make work.