Could not determine if Azure DevOps belongs to a Azure subscription

Viewed 459

I am an owner of an Azure DevOps Organization - e.g. "lab.visualstudio.com". We are planning to decommission our Azure subscription. I try to find out if the decommission will affect my Azure DevOps Org.

I can see "lab.visualstudio.com" is connecting to my Azure subscription for billing purposes. However, I could not find "lab.visualstudio.com" in my Azure portal.

Is there a way to determine if "lab.visualstudio.com" belongs to one Azure subscription? In other words, how can I know if decommissioning my Azure subscription will also decommission my Azure DevOps Organization?

Thanks in advance!


Notes: I saw someone's Azure portal has their Azure DevOps Organisation on it (screenshot attached). I am wondering why mine does not show in my Azure portal.

enter image description here

1 Answers

Is there a way to determine if "lab.visualstudio.com" belongs to one Azure subscription?

To find the Azure Subscription associated with your Azure DevOps organization, login into Azure DevOps, go to Organization Settings and then Billing. You will see the Azure Subscription used for billing of Azure DevOps organization.

enter image description here

You can then go to Azure Portal and navigate to the subscription and look under resources. You should see a resource by the name lab (or the name of your Azure DevOps Organization) of type Azure DevOps organization there.

In other words, how can I know if decommissioning my Azure subscription will also decommission my Azure DevOps Organization?

Azure DevOps uses an Azure Subscription for billing purposes. If you delete the Azure Subscription that is associated with your Azure DevOps organization, your Azure DevOps organization will be immediately moved to "Free Tier". Though I have not tried it but I believe that the resources you have created in your Azure DevOps organization will not be deleted. I'm not sure what would happen if you have provisioned resources more than allowed in free tier.

You can read more about it here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/devops/organizations/billing/billing-faq?view=azure-devops#what-happens-if-i-delete-my-organization-resource--.

Related