Whenever I update my application settings for a Function app and hit the Save button on Azure Portal, I observe that this action temporarily stops my function app while the changes are being persisted to the active worker(s). I need to understand if this is indeed the case or if I'm making a false assumption.
What happens exactly when app settings are updated in the portal?
- 503 is thrown while active worker(s) are being updated
OR
- Another worker is specialized with the new host file. The old worker(s) stop once this one becomes active.
I keep getting 503 Service Unavailable errors. Is there any way to avoid this in production? I need to periodically rotate connection strings/keys, but I can't afford to disrupt the service constantly.