User without permission can see the list with no items to show instead of Sorry, this site hasn't been shared with you.at shrepoint

Viewed 57

At microsoft sharepoint the permission of list is already updated, but user without permission still can see the list at left hand side quick launch, and when enter the link it shown with no items to show instead of Sorry, this site hasn't been shared with you.

Unexpected

Expected

1 Answers

You have probably added the list to a sitepage. Permissions work differently for sitepages and apps.

If you grant a user permission to view a sitepage you implicitly grant the permission to view any webpart on that sitepage. If the user does not have permission to view the contents of the app inside of the webpart, the app will display as having no content.

To get the error message you desire when no read permission was granted, you have to share the URL of your list.

Go to you site contents (gear icon top right corner) and click on your list. Now copy the URL from your navigation bar and share it with your users.

Related