IntelliJ IDEA."Open existing project" vs "delete existing and reimport"

Viewed 560

When pom.xml is selected in IntelliJ IDEA (Java+maven+git) there are two options: Open existing project and Delete existing project and reimport

What exactly is the stuff that is kept when Open Existing is selected, but reset on reimport? Is it key bindings? JDK version? File versioning?

1 Answers

Reimpoting a project will reset anything saved in the .idea folder (i.e., configurations regarding how IntelliJ interacts with your code) - inspection settings, the JDK to use (assuming it's not defined in the pom.xml), saved run configurations, etc.

Related