I was working in a Mercurial branch which had about 10 file changes in the working directory. The working directory's parent was the tip of the branch. Then I updated to a much older change set in the same branch forgetting that I had the 10 changes in the working directory. Now I have hundreds of changes in the working directory and I have no idea what the 10 changes were that I started with. Is there any way to undo the update to the older change set and get back to the state where I had just the 10 changes in my working directory?
To complicate matters, I control-c'd the update when beyond compare popped up asking me to merge a conflict.
I made a mess.