Git conflict "both deleted"

Viewed 11466

I don't understand why "both deleted" is a status for unmerged paths.

If:

  • OldStandard is the base
  • NewStandard is the last commit on the trunk
  • OldCustom is the branch (fork from OldStandard) we try to merge back in master

Why is there a conflict with some files marked as "both deleted"?

I understand the conflict for "both added", when one file is added in NewStandard, and another version of the file is added in OldCustom.

But, for deletion, what's the problem if the file has been deleted in NewStandard, and has also been deleted in OldCustom? That's an equivalent state, nope?

1 Answers
Related