What's the difference between a 'delete' and 'unversion' in SVN?

Viewed 23152

I have a file that had been under revision control in SVN (I use tortoiseSVN). This file has become obsolete, thus I no longer want it to be in a working copy of my repo. However, it would probably be good to retain the history of that file.

I essentially want to 'delete' this file such that it is no longer tracked or 'versioned'. I have the option to either 'delete' this file, or 'unversion' this file.

What is the difference between 'delete' and 'unversion'. What the use cases for each command?

1 Answers
Related